I Can’t Stop Comparing Myself with Others

One of the biggest mistakes we make is comparing ourselves to the next person. Comparing our looks, skin, achievements, abilities, possessions and even spiritual gifts to others. We fail to realise how unique, special and different we are from the next person.

The bible let’s us know that everyone of us was created specially, differently, with unique abilities and God knows us so well. “For you created my inmost being, you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made..” – Psalm 139:13-14(NIV). 

Verse 16 of that same chapter says, “.. all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be”. God even knows the days of your life and what would happen to you in them. This shows that we have a unique timing for our life. 

You are unique and special to the father and to compare yourself to someone else is to undermine God’s ability in you; undervalue your uniqueness.

When we compare ourselves to others we fail to see our own beauty. No matter how much someone’s gift or calling looks like ours, you are so different from them. And true beauty really comes when we accept who we are, God’s timing for our life, our uniqueness and begin to roll with it.

One thing that breeds comparison is being discontented and lacking confidence in your position in Christ. We have to be contented in where we are and where God is taking us to. See it this way: I am not comparing myself with others because I am contented and confident in my position. I am sure of what God has told me, what he would do in my future and what God would do in my life. I am not going to compare what is happening in A’s life to my life because I am content in my path. I am not going to jump into a business, partnership, marriage because others are doing it. I am going to do whatever because I have been led to, not just because others are doing it and not just because others are having it and then I should. I am not going to compare my path to someone else’s because mine is unique.

“Lord you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.” (Psalm 16:5-6). 

God has given you a good portion, beautiful path, and a unique story; enjoy it, build on it and stop looking around.

Celebrate and draw inspiration from beautiful things and people around you but don’t go comparing yourself with them because you are a unique work of art created to bring glory to your father.

Rejoice when good things happen to others because if God can do that for them then he can do even much more for you.

Grace to your heart!

Leave your comment below or send us an email on dpassionatelife247@yahoo.com

Follow our daily post on Facebook.

Leave a comment